Tiramisù – Pick me up!

IMG_0753

Several years ago just after I took early retirement, I attended a day class on simple Italian Cookery. Apart from teaching us how to make  pasta and classic pasta sauces, our tutor passed on to us her Italian mother’s recipe for Tiramisù. It was so easy, foolproof and what’s more, absolutely delicious! I have sampled many a Tiramisù since, either in restaurants, eating with friends or the shop bought variety, but for me this recipe is the best. It is creamy, neither too solid or too runny, and if you like coffee, brandy and chocolate, it is just so full of flavour. I would like to share  this recipe with you, and at the same time acknowledge its source. I claim no responsibility for the recipe, but I can claim to have made it many times and it has always been so good!

Tiramisù is of course, an Italian word, and means something like pick me up, cheer me up or lift me up, and is a very popular coffee flavoured custard dessert which probably first saw the light of day in the Veneto region of Italy in the 1960s, although other sources claim the dessert originated  in Siena in the late seventeenth century. Originally the recipe included eggs, but the version that I am going to share with you, does not.

The ingredients for my Tiramisù are:

  • 250g mascarpone
  • 50g icing sugar
  • 150ml whipping cream
  • 50ml milk
  • 125g Savoiardi biscuits (Sponge fingers or Lady fingers)
  • 175ml strong black coffee, preferably espresso
  • 2 tablespoons brandy
  • Cocoa powder to dust top
  • Grated chocolate to sprinkle on top

Directions:

  • Make the coffee, and add the brandy. Allow this to cool.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together until firm, the mascarpone, icing sugar, cream and milk.
  • Place half of the sponge fingers on the bottom of the serving bowl, and pour over half of the coffee and brandy, ensuring that they are well soaked.
  • Place half of the cheese mixture evenly over the soaked biscuits.
  • Place the remaining biscuits on top of the cheese and carefully drizzle the remaining coffee mixture over the biscuits.
  • Top with the remaining cheese mixture and chill in the fridge for at least three to four hours.
  • Before serving, dust with cocoa powder, and finish with grated chocolate.

Making this dessert usually takes me about forty minutes, is a very easy process and the finished result will serve between six and eight people. I hope you enjoy making it and eating it as much as I do!

Buon Appetito!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Tiramisù – Pick me up!”

Leave a Reply

